Day One Hundred Seventeen: Busier

I try to let go of comparing myself to other people. Really, I do. And, mostly, I’m pretty good at it these days.

But we have these “couple friends” that I can’t get out of my head lately. I say “friends” loosely, because they’re always too busy for us. They work serious jobs, 8+ hours a day. They’re renovating their new house. They run marathons. They volunteer on weekends.

Somedays I have trouble finding the time to make the bed. I’m considered a 2/3 time employee, and I mostly work from home. I do not run marathons or volunteer on weekends.

I’m well aware of that old adage, “If you want something done, give it to the busiest person.” Which has me wondering: do busy people have more fulfilling lives, or do they just get more things done?

Certainly a lot of the things that I fill my time with don’t add value to my life. If there were more pressure to get things done, I wonder if it would be easier to get out of the habit of doing those things. If I had less leisure time, would I use it better?

Leave a Reply

