Day Two Hundred and Eighty Three: Putting my Time where my Mouth is

Or some other mangled proverb.

One of the ongoing themes in my life, if not always addressed explicitly here, is that I don’t always spend my actual time in a way that matches my goals and ideals. In fact, like a lot of underemployed people, I spend a good chunk of my day sitting on the sofa, pretending to do things. Reading blogs by other people doing the things I think of myself as doing, looking for “inspiration” to do new things. Very little actual doing.

I’ve been trying to fix this lately, but habits are hard. Also, I feel an intense need to fill space with something. So, for instance, if I put down the computer to knit, I feel weird unless the TV is on, and I don’t like running the TV during the day. I’m working on that, too. Isn’t doing something + background noise better than all noise?

I have two pretty ambitious goals right now. One of them is the pantry project I mentioned yesterday, which I’m hoping to talk more about as I refine the way we eat through the fall and winter. The other is to make myself a few pieces of winter clothing before spring, which comes early here. I want to finish knitting a lightweight sweater that’s about 35% done right now, plus make a vest and a scarf in time to actually wear them. Plus that fall eating thing, which is going to require some thought, some exploring, and an almost daily time investment.

Plus there’s that whole going back to work thing, which I’ve actually been inspired to do lately.

I’m going to have to be more careful about how I spend my time. I like that.

Leave a Reply

